Arrival

Today I arrived at Hong Kong…

My anxiety took a toll on me right before airing this 16 hour plane, but I did not expect to feel so excited and thrilled as I approached the Hong Kong International Airport.

If you would have asked me yesterday, I would have told you that I am still in denial about even going to Hong Kong. If you would have asked me a few hours before my departure, I would not have been able to talk to you, because I was throwing up non-stop. (I know it’s gross to share this, but I think it’s important to say because that’s exactly how I felt). As I threw up, I realized I was having a panic/anxiety attack. The feelings that were going through me at that time were indescribable…. The only way I can explain it was that the pain I was experiencing felt like I was on the verge of death. I know, I know, a tad bit dramatic, but at that moment that’s how I felt. After calming down, I realized that I was afraid. Afraid of failure, afraid of uncertainty, afraid of loneliness, and anything else you can possibly imagine. But if you asked me what I was feeling as I arrived to the Hong Kong Airport, I would say fear was not one of the feelings I was experiencing.

I felt energized, ecstatic, and curious just thinking of the new possibilities here in Hong Kong that I could not experience anywhere else. As I saw Hong Kong from the sky, I knew that this journey would be one that I will not forget and a journey that will open my mind to scopes I did not even knew existed.

This arrival was such a monumental experience for me because (in a way) I saw an overall glimpse of the feelings I would experience in Hong Kong. Sure, there will be moments where I only have thoughts of an impending dooms, but there will also be great moments (like this arrival) that make this experience worthwhile.

No matter what experiences I go through here in Hong Kong, I know that this is once in a life opportunity, and I will make the most of it.

Until next time…

Leave a comment